New Releases, Promotion, Reunions, Newcomers etc.
Metal News / Promotion » Q5 to release third album on July 8th
Q5 - New Lineup, New Tour, New Songs

Q5 vocalist Jonathan K spoke with Eric Compton of Maximum Metal this week about the band’s new line-up and European tour this Fall.

The band, known for their now classic 1984 opus “Steel the Light”, re-formed last June for a performance at Sweden Rock. The response was so successful that the band have decided to kick off a small tour of Europe beginning with the Rock You to Hell Festival in Greece on November 8th. The band will also perform in Cyprus on November 10th with more dates to be announced.

The band’s original lineup of Jonathan K, Rick Pierce and Even Sheeley are still intact, but original guitarist Floyd Rose has retired from stage work to focus on his famed Tremolo system and custom guitars. Original drummer Gary Thompson has become a studio engineer, thus the band are proud to announce two new additions to Q5; Guitarist Kendall Bechtal (Fifth Angel, Powertrain) as well as new drummer Jeff McCormack (Nightshade, Fifth Angel, Heir Apparent). This new line-up will debut at Rock You to Hell.

“I can tell you the band sounds awesome. I’m prejudiced but I’m also very critical of our sound and the new guys are phenomenal”, explains Jonathan K. “We will also be in the studio and a new CD and songs should be available for download.”

One of the new songs planned is a collaboration with Floyd Rose.

Q5 on Facebook -
Rick Pierce –
Eric Compton
Senior Editor
Maximum Metal
Maximum Metal Magazine
User avatar
United States (us) Male 
Rank: Trespasser
Posts: 8

Reputation: -3
Topics Solved: 0

Q5 to release third album on July 8th, 2016

Frontiers Music Srl is excited to announce the release of the anticipated third album from Q5, entitled 'New World Order' on July 8th.

You can pre-order the album now on both and iTunes:

Q5 was formed in 1983, comprised of members of two popular Seattle bands: vocalist Jonathan K and guitarist (plus famous guitar tremolo inventor) Floyd Rose from The C.O.R.E. and Rick Pierce (guitar), Evan Sheeley (bass) and Gary Thompson (drums) from TKO. The band released its first album, "Steel The Light" (on Music for Nations) in 1984, receiving immediate worldwide critical acclaim, and landing them touring spots with Twisted Sister, Y&T and Lita Ford. The success of "Steel The Light" led them to eventually sign with Polygram/Squawk for their 1985 sophomore release, "When the Mirror Cracks". Due to personal differences, the original lineup dissolved shortly after this release.

In 2014, Q5 was asked to perform at Sweden Rock Festival, a performance that the band had agreed would be a "one off" show, but at the completion of the performance, it was obvious that this was not an ending, but merely a beginning. Upon returning to Seattle, The band secured drummer Jeffrey McCormack (former Heir Apparent, Fifth Angel) and guitarist Kendall Bechtel (former Fifth Angel) and began rehearsing formally as "Q5". The band's relaunch debuted at the ROCK You To HELL Festival in Athens, Greece followed by a headlining performance in Cyprus. The band then returned to Seattle to begin work on music for a new album. Kendall Bechtel, however, was unable to stay with the band due to personal reasons, so the band secured guitar virtuoso Dennis Turner to complete the lineup.

So, while the band's debut album, "Steel The Light " continues to grow in popularity all over the world, the fans are writing from all corners of the globe, eagerly inquiring about the next chapter in the Q5 story. That chapter begins NOW. With their new lineup solidified, and a new album slated for release, Q5 is poised to take its rightful place again in the hard rock/heavy metal hierarchy!

'New World Order' tracklisting:
1. We Came Here To Rock
2. One Night In Hellas
3. The Right Way
4. New World Order
5. Tear Up The Night
6. Halfway To Hell
7. A Prisoner Of Mind
8. Unrequited (A Woman Of Darkness And Steel)
9. Just One Kiss
10. Fear Is The Killer
11. Land Of The Setting Sun
12. A Warrior's Song
13. Mach Opus 206 (Instrumental)
14. Get Next To You (Bonus Track)

Enjoy a trailer featuring the band members telling the story of the new album here:

Jonathan Scott K.: Vocals, Background Vocals
Rick Pierce: Lead Guitars, Rhythm Guitars
Dennis Turner: Rhythm Guitars, Lead Guitars, Background Vocals
Evan Sheeley: Bass Guitar, Backgr. Vocals
Jeffrey Mccormack: Drums And Percussion, Background Vocals


July 29 - Brande-Hornerkirchen, Germany - HEADBANGER'S OPEN AIR FESTIVAL
April 28, 2017 - Lauda-Konigshofen, Germany - KEEP IT TRUE Festival ... der-july-8

The Japan release features an additional bonus track.
I want to die peacefully in my sleep like my grandfather, not screaming in terror like his passengers...
User avatar
Bringer of Steel
United Kingdom (uk) Male
Rank: Bringer of Steel
Posts: 458

Reputation: 4755
Topics Solved: 98

When I saw the "thread" "Q5 to release third album" I knew it was you easter-metalcourier-thunder ...

User avatar
Bringer of Steel
Name: Sarissoforos
Rank: Bringer of Steel
Location: Hlembotzar
Posts: 369

Reputation: 3043
Topics Solved: 9

« Return to Metal News / Promotion

Related Topics  Author   Replies   Views 
related Tokyo Blade (NWOBHM) to release new album in July




related Master (US-IL) - Live in Mexico City, July 11th '98 [Live Album] (2000)




related Wolf (Swe) to release new album




related Lionheart (NWOBHM) to release new album




related Sorcerer (SWE) to release new album in March




related Holocaust (NWOBHM) to release new album




related Oxym (NWOBHM) release new album




« Previous topic | Next topic »

Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests